students working on computers
We Need You / PTO

The Combs Middle School Parent-Teacher Organization (PTO) provides parents with a means to build community within the school setting. The primary goals of PTO are to create opportunities to interact about important school issues and to organize fundraiser events.

Meetings will take place the third Tuesday of each month throughout the school year in the school cafeteria from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. The next PTO meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, April 15. PTO also has a Facebook page that is called JO Combs Middle School PTO which is up and running. Information will be posted on the page to keep everyone updated.

This year's PTO officers are:

  • Shelly Hargis - President
  • Michelle De Leon - Vice President
  • Marianna Sunita - Treasurer
  • Kim Bane - Secretary
  • Patricia Herd - Fundraising

Please make plans to attend the next PTO meeting!


PTO News

PTO would like to thank everyone who participated in their Little Caesar’s fundraiser and let the school community know about their upcoming fundraising events. PTO will be selling Sweetie Peaz during the music concerts on May 12 and 13. We will also be selling Sweetie Peaz during the talent show on May 1. Please support the PTO by making a purchase at these special events.

Walk-A-Thon Results

PTO would like to thank our school community for promoting the walk-a-thon. When we tally the final amounts, the PTO will make approximately $3,000 profit. The top four CSS rooms were:

  • First Place – Mr. Zablotny
  • Second Place – Mrs. Rajnisz
  • Third Place – Mrs. Crow 
  • Fourth Place – Mr. Greene. 
  • Mr. Zablotny’s CSS wins the pizza party for being the top CSS. 

The top ten student winners received their prizes for the excellent work they did gathering their pledges. They are:

  • First Place – Seamus Newton
  • Second Place – Cade Wiles
  • Third Place – Jaelyn Dunbar
  • Fourth Place (tie) – Taylor Bohlmann/Brian Bishop/CJ Hargis, 
  • Seventh Place – Andy Graves
  • Eighth Place – Sabrina Brees 
  • Ninth Place – Connor Van De Grift
  • Tenth Place – Godon Kok

Visit Us on Facebook

Please remember that PTO has a Facebook page. Please check it often, as we will post information regularly to keep you updated.

We Can Make a Difference

Site Council

The Combs Middle School Site Council embraces the mission and vision statements of the J.O. Combs Unified School District and embraces the mission, core philosophies, vision, academic responsibilities, values, and pledge of Combs Middle School.

In order to promote and facilitate these statements, members will work to…

  • Enhance the four core philosophies of the school.
  • Promote strong ties between school, home, community, and business.
  • Provide opportunities for staff regarding the structure and improvement of instructional programs.
  • Respect and accept individual uniqueness and cultural diversity through the development of a professional learning community (PLC).
  • Foster an environment that is emotionally, physically, and mentally safe.

The duties of the Combs Middle School Site Council shall include, but are not limited to…

  • Improvement of the school’s instructional program.
  • Development of an action plan/goals to improve the professional growth of the school’s staff.
  • Coordination of other programs at the school.
  • Communication of various aspects of the school to the school community.
  • Review policies that exist within the school and make recommendations, revisions, additions as needed.


  • Foster communication and collaboration within and outside the J.O. Combs Middle School community to improve school/parent/community relations with an 85% approval rating (School Goal IV).
  • Increase student achievement by 5% on the AIMS tests (reading, writing, and math) through providing an engaging learning environment for all students to grow academically (School Goal I).
  • Develop a positive school culture with the attributes of a Professional Learning Community (PLC) (School Goal V).


  • Mark Mauro, Principal
  • Angela Beauchene, Dean of Students
  • Ashley Morris, Teacher
  • Lila Gonzalez, Teacher
  • Jonathan Spray, Teacher
  • Laura Ridge, Teacher
  • Devin Howe, Teacher
  • Ryan Cress, Teacher

Meeting Schedule (4:30-6:00 p.m. – middle school administrative conference room)

  • September 30, 2013
  • October 28, 2013
  • November 25, 2013
  • December - Not Scheduled
  • January 27, 2014
  • February 24, 2014
  • March 31, 2014
  • April 28, 2014
  • May - Not Scheduled